Anderlecht defeated, Standard champions

MONDAY, 21 APRIL 2008, 00:13 - Skyhawk
Logo Anderlecht-Online

Anderlecht have been defeated tonight by Standard. The final score was 2-0 with both goals scored by former Anderlecht striker Mbokani. That way, Standard are the new champions of Belgium.

Standard took the best start, but after two minutes Anderlecht took control over the game. There were a few chances for Frutos and Gillet. But Standard remained dangerous on the counter attack. Schollen had to keep Mbokani from scoring and also stopped the rebound. A few minutes later, Jovanovic was stopped right before the box by Van Damme. The score at half time was 0-0.

The second half was different. Standard played a lot better and opened the score through Mbokani after 55 minutes of player. The team from Liège kept on creating chances and Mbokani doubled the lead. Anderlecht were KO and the new champions controlled the game until the final whistle.

Score: 2-0
Goal(s): 54' Dieumerci Mbokani, 77' Dieumerci Mbokani

Standard: Rorys Aragon Espinoza, Marcos Camozzato, Costa Santos Bonfim Dante, Réginal Goreux, Oguchi Onyewu Mohamed Sarr (84' Marco Ingrao), Steven Defour, Marouane Fellaini, Axel Witsel, Milan Jovanovic, Dieumerci Mbokani (88' Igor De Camargo)
Anderlecht: Davy Schollen, Olivier Deschacht, Guillaume Gillet (77' Luigi Pieroni), Roland Juhasz, Jelle Van Damme Marcin Wasilewski, Lucas Biglia, Mbark Boussoufa, Jan Polak, Nicolas Frutos, Stanislav Vlcek (60' Jonathan Legear)

Yellow: 19' Marcin Wasilewski, 40' Mbark Boussoufa, 52' Réginal Goreux, 59' Jelle Van Damme, 66' Lucas Biglia, 68' Nicolas Frutos
Red: /

Referee: De Bleeckere
Stadium: Sclessin

anderlecht-online forum