Anderlecht to take the 30th title

MONDAY, 19 APRIL 2010, 00:46 - Skyhawk
Logo Anderlecht-Online

Anderlecht won their 30th Belgian title in the most beautiful way possible. The Mauves won on the field of the biggest rival Club Brugge (1-2) and therefore won the title.

Brugge took the best start, but after ten minutes of pressure, Anderlecht restored the balance. Slowly, the visitors became better. Perisic had the best chance for the home side, while Van Damme threatened goalie Stijnen. Vargas had the best chance for the Brugians, but then Suarez took advantage of a defensive blunder in the home defense. He passed to Van Damme who pushed the 0-1 against the net.

In the second half, Anderlecht clearly proved to be better. Van Damme hit the crossbar with a header. Vargas created some danger for Brugge, but then Suarez doubled the lead. The Mauves kept controlling the match, though Sonck could take one goal back in stoppage time.

Score: 1-2
Goal(s): 30' Van Damme, 87' Suarez, 90' Sonck

Club Brugge: Stijnen, Klukowski, Hoefkens, Alcaraz, Simaeys, Van der Heyden, Blondel(77' Lestienne), Perisic, Dirar, Vargas (62' Sonck), Kouemaha (62'Akpala)
RSC Anderlecht: Proto, Gillet, Juhasz, Mazuch, Deschacht, Van Damme (81' Kouyaté), Biglia, Saré, Boussoufa(89' Rnic), Suarez, Lukaku (75' Chatelle)

Yellow: Alcaraz, Blondel, Dirar, Kouemaha, Saré
Red: /

Referee: Johan Verbist
Stadium: Jan Breydel

anderlecht-online forum