
OTHER Over the past 24 hours, there has been a lot of palaver over Hans Vanaken's handball during the cup final. Het Nieuwsblad took the trouble to bring in the international soccer rules (IFAB) and they are clear: referee Jasper Vergoote rightly did not award a penalty kick.
“There is no violation regarding hands when a player is hit on the hand or arm by a ball coming from a teammate, unless that ball goes directly into the goal or an immediate goal is scored,” the rules read.
In the phase in question, the ball came via Vanaken's teammate Brandon Mechele against his hand.
So, as regrettable as we find it: the phase was judged correct.
Source: © Internal source
Copyright © 2000-2025 - www.anderlecht-online.be - RSC Anderlecht unofficial fansite
Website by Anderlecht-Online VZW & OS Templates